The Standoff

In my last post, I talked about how I visited a Pho restaurant, Pho Central, in Ellensburg. Now I will talk about about another Pho restaurant that I recently discovered in Yakima. In Union Gap by Applebees, there’s a restaturant named Pho King Crab. Since I drive around Yakima a lot, it has come to my attetnion that this resturant may be the only one that serves or specializes in Pho.

Out of curiosity I decided to go and order some to see if it could beat Pho Central. When I went there for the first time I ordered a chicken Pho (same flavor I got in Pho Central). Don’t get me wrong, this pho was good! However, the restaurant’s signature homemade broth had that certain sweetness to it. Even though I’m not very fond of the sweet tanginess it had it was still good. The chicken was well cooked and the toppings that came along with the Pho (basil, bean sprouts, and jalapenos) added more texture and flavor to the broth making me forget about the sweetness. Surprisingly, I came back again the next day! My mother wanted to try it out for herself. Tpho king crab beef phohis time instead of chicken, I ordered beef. Most traditional Pho is eaten with beef and tenderloin. When I received my meal, my first sip was amazing. The beef really punched out the sweetness of the broth and made it more savory. This in turn made me to think that the beef pho at Pho King Crab outdid the other Pho restaurant in Ellensburg. (the picture is a photo of the beef Pho at Pho King Crab)

Leave a comment